i turned 18!

tbh the week before my birthday was uneventful yet shitty. i dont know my brother had a meltdown and i made jelly but mostly just went to school.
i spent the last day of my legal childhood doing normal boring school stuff. i dont know. i remarked on tumblr if you care that the last song i listened to as a child was super graphic ultra modern girl by chappell roan which isnt even a song i like that much. most years im really selective about what the last/first song i listen to before a sort of change, like new years, or a move, or a birthday. Honestly though, and surprisngly in fact, i wasnt terribly concerened even though it was The Big One. Last year i made sure the last song i heard before i turned 17 was booji boy's funeral by devo, it being about being born and dying and all that nonsense. this year i put whos afraid of the art of noise on n the car and about the time the clock struck 9.50 it was playing moments in love, which is totally fine by me. i was born at roughly 10.50 am in missouri. i find that there are two times when your birthday happens, the legal one at midnight, just like new years. then there is the actual revoution around the sun, clearly my favorite.
for my birthday i got a card from my evil grandparents (with 18$) an e-gift card my sister bought me (40$) which is extremely appereciated especially once i figure out how to log in. my aunt as well sent me 100$. im so lucky to be related to such generous people! my sister crocheted me a bag that looks like a fish. as well
i chose to wear my default outfit (sweater under t-shirt, big pants) but honestly i dont really have other outfits haha. my mom took me and my sister to town (the afformentioned car ride of course). obviously i didnt drive haha. our first stop was the dump many such cases. and the gorgeous thrift store and i got a gorgeous laptop (?) bag with stars on it there was also a beautiful painting but that i didn't get. we got kind of a late start so next thing was lunch at my 2nd favorite mexican resuraunt in the tristate area and i had cheese enchiladas it was fabulous.
we walked downtown for some time theres this thrift store that used to be a really nice antique store and i dont know what happened to it but its a disaster now literally like a tornado came through. theres also a very tiny record store with really excellent art prints and a contemporary local art gallery
and then after that we went to the other town and stopped at the mall. my sister told the cashier lady at one of those little peddlers market type stores that it was my birthday and she gave me a packet of freeze dried skittles which would have been 5$ absurd so that was really kind of her. my sister bought a book (jazz taylor i believe is the author?) and after that it was obviously my turn so we went to the other much bigger record store and somehow they had frakie goes to hollywood welcome to the pleasuredome (which is an album i dont like that much i think the first half is excellent but the rest feels very awkward and bloated but it was produced by trevor horn and is part of the classic ztt albums OK!!!!!!!!!) ok and also devo virgin singles :)
the piece of resistance was getting goregous frozen yogurt instead of birthday cake this year. so i had pomegranate and peanut butter flavor with cookie dough and brownie chunks and one gummy worm as is customary. If youre a fake fan you'll say that would be a gross combination but if your a real fan you understand the legit decadance.
by this point we were crapped out so i put the new devo CD in the player and we went home (im turning my family into devo fans bit by bit ! its working !). so that was my brthday i had a lot of fun actually im really happy to say it was a great birthday!
the next day my beautiful art teacher gave me a card and chocolate ,as did my supervisor at the museum who made everyone sign it (sans chocolate). that was so sweet. im glad people think about me it really motivating ! my grandma also sent me a check for 50$ in the mail which i actually have yet to cash in but thanks grandma ily !
it makes me sound like a broken record of course but i really need to buy adventures in modern recording from abc to ztt by trevor horn with my e-gift card once i can figure out how to log in becaue i got around to reading the 56-page preview on google and i just ok i just need to have it . need. the other thing is a CD of skylarking by XTC and i'd like to donate some to a palestinian relief aid thing
being 18 means i am legally autonomous so i can literally leave pretty much if i want to. i can also go to real jail, or get a mortgage, vote. not that im going to do the first two things, of course - im very excited for voting. i registered about a month ago its gonna be so awesome. still need my mommy to sign school permission forms etc though haha. anyway thats just what i did for my birthday thanks for reading